Home » Coup in Niger: Military junta announces new governors for all eight regions”

Coup in Niger: Military junta announces new governors for all eight regions”

by Editor

Following the recent coup in Niger Republic, military juntas have announced the appointment of new governors for the nation’s eight regions.

The spokesperson for the coup leaders, Amadou Abdramane, disclosed this during a press conference on Tuesday.

The appointed governors and their respective regions are as follows:

  1. Agadez – Brigade General Ibro Boulama
  2. Dosso – Brigadier General Iro Oumarou
  3. Diffa – Brigadier General Ibrahim Bagadoma
  4. Niamey – Brigadier General Abdou Assouman Harouna
  5. Tahoua – Major Colonel Oumarou Tawayé
  6. Maradi – Inspector General of Police Issoufou Mamane
  7. Tillabery – Lieutenant Colonel Maïna Boukar
  8. Zinder – Colonel EF Labo Issoufou

Meanwhile, in response to the coup, the White House clarified that it has no evidence suggesting Russia’s involvement in the political unrest.

The spokesman for the US Presidential National Security Council, John Kirby, made this statement during a press briefing in Washington DC.

Kirby also emphasized that the United States has not altered its stance on its presence in Niger, as there have been no perceived threats to its citizens in the country.

Additionally, Washington is yet to make any decisions regarding the continuation of aid provided to Niger.

As the situation unfolds, the appointment of new governors marks a significant development in Niger’s political landscape.

The international community continues to closely monitor the events in the country, and the United States is maintaining a cautious approach while assessing its assistance and involvement.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.