Home » Nigerian Institution of Estate Surveyors and Valuers Kwara Branch elects new exco

Nigerian Institution of Estate Surveyors and Valuers Kwara Branch elects new exco

by Editor

The Nigerian Institution of Estate Surveyors and Valuers (NIESV), Kwara State Branch has re-elected ESV Oyedepo B. Olalekan (ANIVS, RSV) as the branch Chairman to pilot the affairs of the Institution for another two years.

ESV Oyedepo was elected in a keenly contested election during the 2022 Annual General Meeting and election of new executive members for the branch,  held at Sity Inn, G.R.A. Ilorin on Tuesday.

Oyedepo had pulled 40 votes to defeat his closest rival, Alaya Kehinde who recorded 32 votes.

The election which was conducted under the supervision of the National Officer, 2nd Vice President, ESV (Mallam) Bature Ali Muhammad (FNIVS, MIRWA, PSLC) was held under a peaceful atmosphere.

Speaking at the event, Mall. Bature commended the members of the branch for exhibiting sense of maturity throughout the election. 

According to him, there was no rancor, no issue at all and all members played the game the way it is expected of electorates and electoral officials.

While administering Oath and Pledge on the newly elected officers, Mall. Bature urged them to be ready to take the assignment given to them by the Branch and wish them well.

He also encouraged the members of the Branch and Elders to support the executive to deliver well as the 2023 Conference is approaching.

Mall Bature, while speaking with newsmen said that the role of Estate Surveyors and Valuers cannot be neglected in the society, stressing that from land acquisition to development and to the marketing.

“We assist client to get land where they want to put up their building developments either for residential or commercial purposes. We play a role again in the national economy of the country. We are land resource Manager, so we are saddled with the responsibility of knowing the real value of land and landed property, even when the town planners zone land we are the key players that determines what the worth and value the land should be,” he said. 

However, in his inaugural speech, the newly elected chairman of the branch, ESV Oyedepo Olalekan appreciated his professional colleagues for the trust and confidence reposed in him.

Newly elected chairman of the branch, ESV Oyedepo B. Olalekan speaking at the event

He reinstated his commitment to the agenda of his campaign which includes Welfare of Members, Advocacy, Secretariat Project, Training and Navigation and Review of the Branch’s By Law

According to Oyedepo, “this is a great occasion not only to me but also to the entire members of our dear Branch who believe in us and elected us against all odds to become Executives for the year 2022/2024. Together we shall steer this great Institution through our Branch to a new height and high level of achievement. 

“I must thank all the Committees both Standing and Ad – hoc, the Individuals, Fellows and Elders that has worked in the past, those that worked with us during last tenure that led to the emergence of this new Executives and all of you that is currently working with your selfless efforts, dedication and sacrifices to make this Branch progress and accomplish thus far. 

“Therefore, on this occasion, I would like to mention it in a clear term that the first agenda of this current Executive and our top priority shall be the working hard to achieve a successful hosting of 2023 National Conference in Ilorin, Kwara State.

“We believe with God, team work, cooperation and support of all the members of this Branch it shall be a Success”, he added.

Also speaking, the newly elected Publicity Secretary, ESV Bayo Arashi promised to make is positive contribution towards the development of the Institution.

Arashi said that he is going to improve on the promotion of the image of the Institution through adequate publicity of the activities and programmes the branch and beyond.

Arashi who had described the processes of the election as free, fair, credible and transparent, thanked members for having confidence in him, even as he promised not to disappoint them.

Speaking with this medium, an elder in the Institution, ESV Otunba Banji Olanrewaju said that the election was very orderly and the electoral committee were also orderly.

Olanrewaju said that all the contestants at the end of the election were winners. He also urged all the contestants to support the winners for the progress of the Institution, even as encouraged the new executive to work as a formidable team so that they can lead the branch to a glorious height.

Another elder of the Institution, Dr. Nurudeen Bello described the election as peaceful as usual and that there was evidence of nobility in it because it’s a noble profession.

Bello called on the new executive to improve on the performance of the past executives so that they can take the branch to the next level.

Members of the Executives sworn in includes: Vice Chairman, ESV. Kehinde Alli ANIVS, RSV; Secretary, ESV. Waheed Jimoh ANIVS, RSV; Assistant Secretary,

ESV. Lami Sukurat Muhammad ANIVS, RSV and Financial Secretary, ESV. John M. Ezra ANIVS.

Others are: Treasurer, ESV. Ibrahim Alao Sulyman ANIVS, RSV; Publicity Secretary, ESV. Arashi Adebayo S. ANIVS, RSV; Ex-Officios, ESV. (Mrs.) Giwa Grace ANIVS, RSV; ESV. Olatayo Adekeye ANIVS, RSV and ESV. (Alh) Anafi Rasaq ANIVS, RSV.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.